Skip to content

Telltale poker face

August 17, 2009

There’s a question circulating right now on LinkedIn’s Q&A about aging. This particular question: ‘As you age what is it you fear the most?’, is generating quite a few heartfelt answers from those whom I suspect are mostly post Baby Boomers.

At first I was a bit surprised encountering such a question on LinkedIn. It’s in fact a very personal topic. Yet judging from the responses, it’s also a topic that genuinely touches people; being it either on a professional or a personal level.

Being blessed

The question got me thinking about what aging means to me. The psychical part of ageing doesn’t scare me that much. Though I’m aware that it’s not really all up to me, I’m confident. For generally most people take me for either 10 to 12 years younger than my actual age.

Yes. In a sense, I’ve been (doubly) blessed. I’ve inherited a youthful appearance on my mother’s side; in her early eighties, she has less wrinkles than some 40 year olds I know. Complementary to this, my father’s side of the family blessed me with ‘youthful’ energy.

And I take care of myself. I do yoga and I walk on a regular basis. In addition, I’m a vegetarian who watches her diet, doesn’t smoke and avoid drinking alcohol. For the rest, I try to remain mentally active by taking up courses and learning new skills.

As good as the next person, I’ve had my share of life experiences. But I always take it in stride and try to keep my chin up. In other words, I do my best to age gracefully.

Fearing ageism

So like I said, the physical part of ageing doesn’t scare me that much. What scares me in this phase of my life is that particular date on my résumé. Against better judgement and certainly against the advice of some career coaches, I’ve listed my birthday in my personal specifics. Feeling that omitting it, can also work against me.

I have it right up there, at the top. In the full knowledge that some (young) hiring manager, preferring a likewise young team line-up, will write me off at first glance. All on account of some numbers on a piece of paper. Without ever seeing or speaking to me. So much for my blessings. And my ‘personal care regime’.

Ageism is thus what scares me most of growing old. Employers who only think in short term benefits and ignore the (seasoned) potentials around them. Common sense tells (and comforts) me, that I wouldn’t want to work for such an employer anyway. Only, it just seems like a total waste of talents.

Telltales

However, it’s not all gloom and doom. There’s one thing I really love about growing old. That’s the telltales we all develop. We lose that youthful blandness as we age.

Some of us might put up a poker face; or go in denial. Even so our body, our posture, our mind and our face, mirrors the life we’ve had and shows the world the person we’ve become. Telltales displaying our own full glory and our own personal uniqueness. That’s the beauty of growing old: growing into your own skin.

Health, Age and Humour

I don’t normally do this, ‘spread humour around’. But for Jon Stewart’s take on the Health Care issue (also an Age issue) in the United States, I gladly make an exception. It’s too good not to share with you. We miss an intelligent perspective like this on the Dutch political scene.
 

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 
Now, this is what I call ageing gracefully:
 

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 


Please click the green button to retweet the article and share it with others. Thank you so much. If you enjoyed the post, please share it. Thank you!
Do visit again or simply
sign up to Ivichie Says.

Here’s how we can stay in touch:

Connect with me on FacebookLet's join our Professional Networks on LinkedIn

One Comment leave one →
  1. Olga permalink
    August 19, 2009 21:56

    This is good. Bear in mind that the Telltales are the ones that are really important. I am 47 and more happy than I ever was in life! We’re blessed that we have the chance to get older and have our life experiences we can share. Some people could not…

    Like

Come on. Have your say. What's your take?

